Benson Kua's Blog

Grounded at the Airport (and I Love It!)

with 3 comments

“Grounded at the Airport”

Have you ever had a layover at an airport? If you have ever travelled by plane, even occasionally, you will most likely have experienced waiting at the airport for a connecting flight.  Well, whenever I go back home to Manila (Philippines) from Toronto (Canada), I would always have a layover at the Hong Kong International Airport lasting around 4-5 hours, depending on how early my flight from Toronto would arrive in Hong Kong.  This flight would also always arrive in the wee hours of the morning (around 5 AM) and I loved this because of several reasons:

  1. There aren’t a lot of people at the airport, except for the people who sleep on the airport benches (who I assume stayed overnight at the airport) so its not ridiculously crowded unlike peak hours.
  2. The relatively empty airport gives me a chance to do some ridiculous stretching exercises, which I normally would not do in an airport full of people. Believe me, you need to do a good stretch after a 16 hour flight (deep vein thrombosis begone!)
  3. The early morning light is beautiful and I get a chance to take pictures of the planes (thank goodness the Hong Kong Airport is mostly glass as this gives me more places to take pictures from!) and the airport itself!

This post chronicles my picture taking exploits at the beautiful Hong Kong International Airport during my somewhat lengthy layover when I had gone back home in August of 2011.  Enjoy!

“Poor guy was waiting for his flight too – He stood there in that same exact pose for a good 30 minutes!”

“Early Morning at the Airport – I love the soft light coming from the sun.”

“All I could think about when I was taking this picture was: When will I ever get to set foot on Australia and see the kangaroos!??”

“Everything was still at a standstill when I had arrived at the airport – Who could blame them? It was only 6AM in the morning!”

“A plane docked (is that the right term for a plane?) at the Hong Kong International Airport”

“A Cathay Pacific plane being filled with food!!! – I was somewhat hungry at this point and had nowhere to buy food because everything was still closed at the airport; I continued to ogle the catering containers for a couple more minutes (imagining what foods they contained), I then wiped away my drool and proceeded to take more pictures…”

“Pushcarts at the Hong Kong Airport”

“Movators at the Hong Kong Airport – I kept walking back and forth on these things the entire time I was there… Why? Because I could! (And the hunger was probably making me a little bit loopy).”

“Poor guy was lost, he kept going back and forth the entire time he was there.”

“The airport starting to come alive as the sun also rose higher above the horizon”

“Hong Kong Airlines plane at the Hong Kong Airport”

“The sun was getting stronger as time flew by (pun intended)”

“ANA Plane – I wanted to board this plane and tell them to bring me to Japan!”

“My Plane Ride Home – The plane that I rode to get back home to Manila; I was enjoying taking pictures too much that I had almost forgotten to board my plane!”

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. my family and i were just in hkia last month! and yes, we love hkia too. spacious, nice interiors, clean toilets and the list goes on…

    i am impatient at most things but waiting for flight in a terminal. haha!

    docgelo

    March 15, 2012 at 2:09 am

  2. Love the shot of the guy looking out the window.

    VictorsMovieReviews

    March 15, 2012 at 6:24 am

  3. Wow, nice photos! I can actually feel your boredom and desire to kill time before your plane arrives. 🙂

    whyyyjen

    March 16, 2012 at 5:57 am


Leave a Reply

