Benson Kua's Blog

From Inside the Plane

with 13 comments

“Flying High – Taken over the British countryside as we were headed to Rome”

I was trying to think of a topic on what to post about next and I thought of this old post I did on my Tumblr account about taking pictures out from airplane windows.  Do you see a trend here?? I certainly have this fascination with taking pictures out of vehicles (1)(2).  Anyways, I couldn’t really talk much about the pictures in my Tumblr post because the photo caption functionality was very limiting (It limited the caption to a certain number of characters only); so I decided to take another stab at it here and put captions for the photos as I had originally intended to.

These photos were taken from various trips/vacations I have had in the past years.  I feel very grateful to have been able to go to these places (and also of course, having a window seat on the plane so I could take these pictures).

Just a note about my travel habits: Whenever I travel by plane, I usually try and book a window seat (except when its a REALLY long flight, booking a window seat on a long flight is just disaster for the toilet situation). I love looking out the window to see the views and of course take pictures! Sometimes I do overdo it though and get airsick in the process…. lol.

Enjoy!

“I think someone was slacking off… – Taken at London’s Heathrow Airport while our plane had “issues.”  The “issue” took about an hour to resolve and this guy was still there by the time we left!”

“I woke up in the middle of my nap during my flight from London to Rome and this was what I saw outside the window! I was told that these were the Italian Alps.”

“Another shot of the British countryside as we flew towards Rome – The plane was banking really  hard when I took this picture (I also felt a little bit of my lunch come up at that time)”

“Leaving Toronto – An overhead view of a part of Toronto (most likely Mississauga) as our plane flew for San Francisco; the long strip of road on the top left corner of the picture should be the 401.”

“All Lined Up – Planes at the Hong Kong International Airport; taken outside the plane window as I was waiting for the plane to taxi out into the runway – The steward immediately told me to turn off my camera right after I took this picture…. I don’t know why…. we weren’t even moving and other people were still talking on their cellphones (I took more pictures when he had left).”

“Miami Landing – Taken while the plane was nearing Miami International Airport; I was humming Will Smith’s song “Miami” as we were landing.”

“Chomp! – When I took this picture, I was imagining that the large island was trying to eat the smaller island.  Do you see it? No? Well, I WAS a little high on those anti-nausea pills when I fabricated the entire thing… This was taken somewhere over Palawan.”

“Somewhere Over Palawan”

“Above the Clouds – The day that I had flown out of the Puerto Princesa Airport (Palawan) was VERY cloudy so I was pretty bummed because that meant I couldn’t really take pictures of the islands/water below, but when the plane rose above the cloud line this was what I saw! *JAWDROP*”

“Sunset Over Palawan – The islands of Palawan during sunset while our plane traveled from Puerto Princesa to Manila.”

“Aerial View of Manila – Taken while our plane was nearing Manila’s airport; I think that long stretch of road is EDSA (please correct me if I’m wrong). SLEX (Thanks, Kim!)

Written by Benson

March 12, 2012 at 9:46 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice Photos!! amaaaazing 😀 😀

    – Val of The Foodscrapbook

    grillqueen

    March 12, 2012 at 11:01 pm

  2. i love the “monster island eating island” thing, prior caption….i was seeing the same thing!!! hahah, no i didn’t take anti nausea pill here! Awesome pics you have! 😀

    emayey

    March 13, 2012 at 12:51 am

  3. I tired taking similar pics…but d view normally limited by the plane window. Urs amazing!

    artictern travel tales

    March 13, 2012 at 12:56 am

    • Thanks! I definitely know what you mean when you say the window limits your view, I found that having a wide-angle lens (around 24mm or even wider) helps with that.

      Benson

      March 13, 2012 at 12:59 am

  4. Nice Pic!!!! 😀

    Aidil

    March 13, 2012 at 1:37 am

  5. Nice shots! As far as my imagination and my memory is concerned, that highway isn’t EDSA but its actually SLEX

    Kim Quilo

    March 13, 2012 at 1:45 am

    • Haha! Thanks for that, I’ve been wondering why my “EDSA” in the picture was running north to south instead of west to east. Looking again from Google Maps, it does seem likely to be SLEX.

      Benson

      March 13, 2012 at 1:50 am

  6. The first photo looked lomo-ish, or something taken using an iphone. Kewl!

    Amiel

    March 13, 2012 at 8:09 am

  7. Beautiful Shots!

    Shilpi Gemawat

    March 13, 2012 at 1:21 pm

  8. Awesome photos! It’s not often I see such clarity through an airplane window. Very nice!! Thanks for sharing. Jeannie

    mcjeannie11

    March 14, 2012 at 8:26 am

  9. i like the look of the miami landing photo! but the best are the ones of philippines (biased here! hehe). keep em coming!

    baki

    March 14, 2012 at 8:41 pm

  10. The picture over “Mississauga” is actually Woodbridge and the highway is 407. The view is southwest. Hwy 427 is in the distance.

    John

    August 25, 2012 at 2:41 am

    • Good to know, I didn’t really know where I was at that time! Lol!

      Benson

      September 2, 2012 at 11:38 pm


Leave a Reply

